2023.07.08 – MadCool Festival, Madrid, Spain

Date: 8th July 2023
Event: Mad Cool Festival
Venue: Espacio Mad Cool Valdebebas
City: Madrid
Country: Spain
Support: see timetable

(the order of the tracks is probably wrong)
1. Breathe
2. Omen
3. Wild Frontier
4. Light Up The Sky
5. Climbatize
6. Everybody In The Place
7. Voodoo People
8. Firestarter
9. No Good (Start The Dance)
10. Their Law
11. Roadblox
12. Get Your Fight On
13. Need Someone
14. Poison
15. Smack My Bitch Up
16. Take Me To The Hospital
17. Invaders Must Die
18. We Live Forever
19. Out Of Space

Extra info:
Madrid is Life Stage timetable:
19:00 Years & Years
21:35 M.I.A.
00:50 The Prodigy

Review by Sam Moore, NME.com:
The Prodigy live at Mad Cool 2023: hellishly good fun from an iconic act
It’s always wise to leave something in the tank for the final day of any festival – and that’s especially the case with Mad Cool Festival 2023, with organisers offering their punters a high-energy choice of festival closer between Jamie xx or The Prodigy. Those who opt for the latter on the Madrid Is Life stage would’ve been best advised to limber up beforehand; indeed, NME spots a couple going through some yoga practices before Liam Howlett, Maxim and the fearsome Prodigy live band take to the stage.
Opening with ‘Breathe’ and a demand from relentless ringmaster Maxim to “bring the fucking noise!”, the pace doesn’t let up: ‘Omen’ is reassuringly face-melting, while live drummer Leo Crabtree’s piercing tom drum reverberates around the festival site during ‘Voodoo People’ – a track that still sounds as scintillating as it no doubt did upon its original release in 1994.
A fitting visual tribute to late Prodigy frontman Keith Flint appears on the giant screens that flank the stage during a rendition of the band’s genuinely iconic ‘Firestarter’, with Flint’s warped vocal sample interweaving with the live instrumentation. Maxim continues to carry the fire in Flint’s memory, though, with the vocalist instinctively commanding the various circle and mosh pits that emerge throughout the set.
“All my fucking warriors at the front representing,” he addresses the front row before ‘Their Law’. “All my Prodigy people in Spain: this shit is for fucking life.” The roar which greets this directive just goes to show that there are plenty of devotees in the Mad Cool crowd.
It all makes for a truly breathless experience even with third day festival fatigue setting in. A closing quartet of ‘Smack My Bitch Up’, ‘Take Me To The Hospital’, ‘Invaders Must Die’, ‘We Live Forever’ and ‘Out Of Space’ threatens to finish the exhausted Mad Cool faithful off for good – if they weren’t having so much fun, that is.


Photos from the show:

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>




Solve me Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.